Tags

, , , , ,

Yesterday I blogged about serving others, mainly my kids, by doing those little, annoying, boring, sometimes disgusting things that being the mom of a family usually requires.  Things like changing diapers.  I finally got it that in pursuing those things that make up the daily grind and drudgery of my vocation, rather than pursuing my dreams, I am becoming more like Christ and living a sort of “Martyrdom of Obscurity.”

This morning I threw my back out by picking up my two year old and leaning over the water fountain at the park so she could drink.

I am now stuck in my armchair with pillows and laptop, more-or-less forced to not serve my family!  How is that for the Divine sense of humor?!  I feel like He’s giggling a little and telling me “You got served!”  Pun intended.  Because, you know, now my husband and kids have to serve me, instead of the other way around.  People are bringing me water and coffee and laptops and stuff.

It just goes to show, whether I’m the one serving, or the one being served, humility is of the essence.  So is patience.  I’m getting some spiritual exercise in both virtues while lounging here in this comfy chair.  I feel a little tiny bit like Job right now, sitting around not doing much but saying, “The LORD gave and the LORD has taken away; blessed be the name of the LORD!” –Job 1:21

