Tags

, ,

St. John of the Cross has intrigued me for a long time.  It’s only recently, however, that I’ve started to have an inkling about what the heck he’s saying.

His “way of the nada” has always made my brain feel like it’s turning into a pretzel, trying to understand.  How can there be a “nada” way to God?

But, as it turns out, I was misinterpreting his “nada.”  Now (for whatever reason) I think I get it: to let God have access into you, you have to have “nothing” in God’s way.  It all seems so simple now.  While remaining very complicated.

Literally “no thing” should be in the way as God is trying to get to you, and as you are trying to get to God.  “No thing” includes the Self.  You have to get out of your own way!

This is very difficult.  Frankly, at this point, it sounds impossible to me.  How can I get out of my own way? Even as I’m sitting here thinking about how to get myself out of God’s way, I’m wondering if the act of wondering about it is actually part of what’s in the way. Sigh.

Does anyone else ever feel like throwing their hands in the air and telling God, I give up on trying to understand this! I can’t wrap my brain around it anymore.  And I don’t really need to understand it all anyway, as long as You know what’s going on… because that’s what matters.

