Tags

,

“Silence is the doorkeeper of the interior life.” — St. Josemaria Escriva

It’s so hard to be quiet.  Does silence even exist any more?  Sometimes I think the only way I’d be able to experience true silence is inside a sensory-deprivation tank.

But, if silence is the doorkeeper of the interior life… and I know I have an interior life, since I’ve had experiential proof… then physical silence that can be heard (or, rather, not heard) must not be the silence St. Josemaria is talking about.

Silence of the heart?  Silence of the mind?

Silence of that kind comes to me when I’m stunned by God, which makes sense, since the whole point of the interior life is having a relationship with Him.  When I am amazed or subdued or captivated by God, that’s when my internal monkeys fall silent.  And it’s not like I sit down intending to be captivated by God.  He surprises me in the middle of washing the dishes or letting my seven-year-old give me a makeover.

It’s like He’s a Daddy playing peek-a-boo with a baby.  Baby doesn’t know what’s going on when Dad covers His face with His hands… He disappears! He’s gone. Baby is alone, confused about what’s going on, wondering what’s going to happen.  But when Dad takes His hands away and greets His baby with a smile, such intense delight engulfs that baby that it’s like nothing but Dad, and the love between Him and His baby, exists in the whole world.

And that’s the whole point!

